The English Lake District is best known for its 16 major lakes; Bassenthwaite Lake, Buttermere, Coniston Water, Crummock Water, Derwent Water, Devoke Water, Ennerdale Water, Esthwaite Water, Grasmere, Haweswater Reservoir, Loweswater, Rydal Water, Thirlmere, Ullswater, Wast Water & Windermere.

However there are over 1000 bodies of water, ranging from the big lakes (such as Windermere at over 10 miles long) to tiny pools of water a few feet across. Some always contain water, some dry up after a period with no rain and some are now permanently dry. Most are naturally formed, others are natural but have been enlarged by damming, some are artificial (constructed for fishing, boating or just ornamental reasons) and some were constructed as reservoirs from the outset. Not all of the natural bodies have names, perhaps 20-30%, and even less are shown with a name on maps.

This website covers all the lakes that I have chosen to include in my Lakes Project, with details such as location, size, accessibility, description and background information - oh, and photographs where available. Please visit the links below for more information.

What is The Lakes Project?

Alphabetical Index
all the Lakes, Meres, Tarns & Waters, listed alphabetically

Geographical Area Index - all the Lakes, Meres, Tarns & Waters listed alphabetically within five areas;

All the Lakes, Meres, Tarn & Waters that flow into a river system;
River Systems

The lakes, meres, tarns and waters listed in descending order of size;
Greater than 100 hectares/1km² (250 acres)
Greater than 10 hectares (25 acres)
Greater than 3 hectares (7 acres)
Greater than 1 hectare (2.4 acres)
Less than 1 hectare (2.4 acres)